Meet the Team

Our Leaders

NNDC-IF is proud to welcome the international institutions and leaders that have joined us to further our mission.

Dr. Murali Rao is the Professor and Chairman of the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Neurosciences at Loyola University Medical Center in Chicago. He specializes in liaison and emergency psychiatry. Additionally, he serves as a member of multiple professional bodies including the American College of Psychiatrists, the Academy of Psychosomatic Medicine, CINP, the Indian Psychiatric Society, and the American College of forensic Psychiatry.

Dr. Rao has received multiple awards and fellowships including Distinguished Life Fellow by the APA, Outstanding Academician Award by the Indo-American Psychiatric Association, and the Master Teacher Award by the Stritch School of Medicine. Dr. Rao has also had more than 50 journal publications.


Dr. Hina Sharma is currently serving as the Executive Director of the National Network of Depression Centers- India Foundation (NNDC-IF). She received her Ph.D. in Neurosciences from the All India Institute of Medical Sciences, New Delhi. She is a qualified Biotechnologist and possesses knowledge in clinical research from Quintiles Research India Pvt. Ltd. She has worked as a senior research fellow for ICMR funded projects at AIIMS, New Delhi, and has also worked with international sponsors on Phase 2 and 3 drug trials in collaboration with Quintiles in various renowned hospitals in Ludhiana, Punjab. Dr. Sharma won first prize in the poster presentation funded by ICMR at TROPICON in 2015. She is also a certified trainer in ICH-GCP guidelines defined by the USA’s FDA.

Executive Director

Dr. Nand Kumar is currently a Professor in the departments of Neuropsychiatry and Psychiatry at AIIMS in New Delhi, India. He established the neuromodulation lab and clinic at AIIMS to provide clinical care to patients and conduct research to further the use of neuromodulation. Dr. Kumar also provides training for young psychiatrists, psychologists, neuroscientists, and researchers.

Dr. Kumar is the Founder and President of the Neuromodulation Society in India. He has also held various leadership positions across multiple organizations such as the Indian Psychiatric Society, the International Headache Society, the Delhi Psychiatric Society, the Indian Association of Social Psychiatry, and TIDE.


Our Honorable Patrons

Chris is a leading exponent on global mental health practice, a social entrepreneur, and a mentor. Chris is the founder of BasicNeeds, the mental health charity working in developing countries, and previously founded Action on Disability and Development, and Thrive. He is currently co-founding citiesRISE, which is a multi-stakeholder initiative designed to promote mental health by catalyzing collective actions across sectors within cities. He is the Chair of Spring Impact, a Global Director of Leaders Quest and the Chair of Carers Worldwide. A much sought-after mentor, his mentees currently work in mental health, international work with deaf and hard of hearing children, organizational management, executive search, models of change 
Pavan Ranga is a Director of the N. R. Group, a diversified business group with ventures in fragrance, natural extracts, aerospace, and healthcare. Mr. Ranga is also the founder of Rangson’s Electronics, a leading electronics system design and manufacturing company in India. He also serves on the boards of several companies including N. Ranga Rao & Sons Pvt Ltd, Rangson’s Defense, Cyient DLM, NESSO, Ripple Fragrances, and Senzopt Technologies. Mr. Ranga has been fostering technology build up in the country through strategic business initiatives and investments through VC and private equity funds. 

Our Steering Committee

Dr. Aastha Sachdeva is currently serving as the Director of Education and the Advisory Board member of the National Network of Depression Centers- India Foundation. She has done her Ph.D. in Management and Psychology from Jamia Milia Islamia University, New Delhi, and pursued her master’s in psychology from Indraprastha College, Delhi University.
Dr. Aastha is the founder of CounSoul, which provides counselling services to clients to help them become evolved individuals and live a life of holistic wellness. She is the author of a book for Psychology based on the CBSE curriculum. She has recently bagged an award from the Ministry of Human Resource Development for her contributions to psychology education.
Dr. Aastha is actively working for the cause of Mental Health by delivering workshops, trainings and webinars at both national and international platforms.

Dr. Shruti Varma is currently serving as the Corporate Head and the Advisory Board member at the National Network of Depression Centers- India Foundation. She is a therapist holding a Masters’ Degree in Counselling Psychology as well as a Diploma in Human Emotions from Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania.

Dr. Shruti has worked with Moolchand Hospital, New Delhi as a counselling psychologist and is currently working with Rainbow Hospital, New Delhi. She worked in the leading position in one of the central government proposed projects called the Rashtrapati Bhawan’s Smartgram Yogna for Teachers’ Training in Adolescents Behaviour (Honorable President of India’s Project for Smart Villages) and also on several projects with Pranab Mukherjee Foundation. Dr. Shruti has been serving the community through her skilled Yogic Sciences and mindfulness techniques like Meditation, Yoga, and other Indian Spiritual Practices for decades and also as an Emotional Intelligence Trainer specialist for various corporates. She has been actively delivering talks and webinars for several companies and NGOs during this unprecedented situation.